If you have purchased the Virtual FTP (VFTP) account upgrade (£95 + VAT pa)
you will be able to create new FTP users with password access to specific directories
within your web space. These areas are "chrooted" meaning that a user
connecting to their assigned directory will not have access to other areas on your site.
Your FTP server will be called ftp.yourdomain.com (replacing the yourdomain.com
part with whatever domain you've decided to use).
The system is controlled via a web-based VFTP control panel. You can access this
by pointing a web browser to the /vftp directory on your server, using your
account login details. For example:
The VFTP admin pages.
When you first enter your ftp admin area you will see a
list of admin options down the left hand side of your web browser.
These allow you to perform the basic administrative tasks:
1) Add FTP User
2) Change User Password
3) List/Delete Users
4) List/Delete Directories
5) Admin Configuration
Add FTP User
Selecting the "Add FTP User" option displays a form for creating a
new ftp account. You must specify a 'username' and 'password' for the account.
The password must be repeated to confirm it was typed correctly. The 'description'
field is for your benefit only.
The 'ftp root' is the complete file path to the directory that you want to be
the ftp user's home. The basepath specified outside the textbox can be altered
in "Admin Configuration" (see later).
An email address can be optionally included. If it is, an email is sent to it,
containing the full login details. The contents of this email can be customised
in "Admin Configuration".
Change User Password
This option allows the password of an existing ftp account to be replaced. As
the admin, you do not need to know the previous password. This can be used if
the account holder forgets their password, or if you want to prevent their ftp
access, without deleting the account.
This allows you to list all of your current users, and thir corresponding ftp
roots. To remove a user, you may select it from the list. A confirm delete is
shown in the browser before the user is removed.
This option lists the directories (will full file paths) which have vFTP access.
To help you monitor your disk space, the size of these directories are also
shown. You can delete these directories (and their contents) from here. Again,
a confirm delete is shown in the browser.